Posted by: GourmetGirl | April 27, 2010

Stitches South

I returned late Sunday afternoon from a glorious time at Stitches South!

The Classes! The Vendors! The Knitters! The FUN!!!!

I will be talking about the things I learned and the people I met for several posts that will follow this one.

The highlights:

I am one of 3 people in the student fashion show that won an Editor’s Choice Award. I was nervous, but I had friends (some new, some old) in the audience cheering me on.

My ever good friend, Sharon, was my dresser to make sure nothing was out-of-place for my runway walk! The lights were bright and at the end of the walk was Shannon Dunbabin of Cascade Yarns holding up a smilie face. Thank You, Shannon, it did make me relax and smile!

A few days before, Shannon asked if I would do designs for Cascade Yarns! I already have a pattern stitch chosen and an idea forming for their hottest new yarn: UltraPima. I can’t wait to get started!

This pattern is the first to be drafted in my new software that was purchased at Stitches Market. Heatherly Walker and her husband had a booth selling Intwined Pattern Studio by Favor Software.

It is absolutely wonderful! I loaded the software and had the pattern stitch chart – and key – in record time. Fast, Easy and Good Looking! I am so excited about it! You can find it at: www.intwinedstudio.com

I took Classes from Merike Saarnit, Edie Eckman, Joan Schrouder and again from Merike Saarnit. I met Lily Chin and Leslye Soloman. I spoke several times with Melissa Leapman, Edie Eckman, and Rick Mondragon. I heard later that Cookie A was there, too! Oh! And how could I forget about seeing team Ravelry live and in person!? The Code Monkey himself even spent a few minutes chatting with Sharon and I as we stood in line to enter the Ravelry party!

Wednesday night through Sunday afternoon just FLEW by!

If you have not experienced a Stitches event I highly urge you to. It is exhilarating and unforgettable!

Responses

  1. Congrats Nancy! I knew you could do it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

