Posted by: GourmetGirl | June 9, 2010

Patterns 101

At Stitches South this year I took the Patterns 101 class taught by Edie Eckman.

The class was a day long class about writing patterns. Following style, making concise wording and other points on the technical side of writing a pattern.

I have been writing patterns for 3 years now and I was very pleased to see that I already follow most of the points that she touched on in class. The patterns I write today are much more clear than the first ones that I wrote!

Sometimes it is very difficult to describe – in a few words – clear instructions. For many of my current designs I try to “create” a new way of reaching a design goal for top down knitting.

Right now I am working on a tank top out of Cascade Yarn’s Arcadia. (Truly one of my favorite summer yarns!!) Of course, it is top down and I am trying out yet another way to create interest and style. It has some nice twists and turns that are challenging me on writing the pattern. The front is ready to join and I am about to start the back. The back will not have the wonderful cable down the front, so the increases will change.

Plans are in my head to add a cardigan to make it a twin set……….

I also am working on a fair isle design that is most challenging to incorporate the fair isle design while making the increases needed for a top down sweater. Today I will be swatching to see if all the hours spent on the design pays off – or if I redesign again.

Writing patterns……..there are a lot out there! And plenty in my head to put into words……….

Happy Knitting!

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

