Posted by: GourmetGirl | August 24, 2010

Charts

I remember my first chart. I was frighted by the large numbers of rows, columns, dashes and blank areas.

It was just knit and purls, but as I stared at the chart with wide eyes, I swallowed and plunged in!

After a bit the chart was not scary at all! It was sooooo much easier to follow than long lines of k3, p1, k3, p1, k6, p1, k3,………..where it was easy to get lost.

I could actually SEE the pattern in the chart and find my place with ease!

Of course, I have learned a few “tricks” along the way to make chart reading easier.

My favorite way is to put the chart in a plastic sheet and use a dry erase marker to draw through the row I have just completed. It makes it very easy to see my next row and I don’t have to worry about a bulky magnate board or a bumped bar. When I am finished with the last row I just tissue off the marked through rows and start the chart over!

I urge you to take the chart plunge! It will bring a whole new area of beauty to your knitting skills!

Leave a Reply

Categories

