Posted by: GourmetGirl | September 29, 2010

Slippers Galore!

There are Slippers Galore in Amy Polcyn’s new book: Knit a Dozen Plus Slippers.

Amy and I both have something in common that I just discovered: We both have designs in the November issue of Creative Knitting Magazine that has just hit the newsstands. Check out the issue!

Now on to slippers, slippers and more slippers!

I was able to ask Amy a few questions……

And of course, my 1st was:

How many pairs of slippers do you and your family own!? Do you wear a different pair each day? And which is your absolute favorite pair? And Amy Replied:  Well, we’d have more if I had more time for personal knitting!  My daughter has a pair of the Brightly Beaded Moccasins from the book (she wears adult sizes these days), my husband is sadly slipperless, (unless you count the pair he bought that look like gorilla heads, but I’m planning to knit him some for Christmas, don’t tell!), and I have several pairs, both those designed by others and designed by me.  Lately I’ve been wearing the Mary Jane slippers from the book since the weather cooled off a bit.

 
 Your toe method is not a commonly used method. Could you tell us about that choice?
I love working socks from the toe up, so I wanted to incorporate that into the book as well.  There are a lot of methods people use for knitting toe up socks (or slipper socks, for that matter!), but my personal favorite is starting with a provisional cast on worked into a crocheted chain.  It’s easy, and working back and forth in rows for the toe gives the knitting a chance to get more substantial before switching to working in the round.  That’s the problem I run into when I try to start toe up with a Turkish or figure-8 cast on–the first few rounds are awfully fiddly, at least for me.
 
What made you choose bulky weight yarn for these socks?
I chose the bulky weight yarn both for warmth and also for speed.  I wanted some of the projects to be lightning fast to knit, especially since slippers make great gifts.  I’ve had a number of “emergency” gift situations so it’s good to have some project ideas on hand that can be finished when time is tight.
 
Could a knitter easily substitute a worsted weight?
You could, though it would take a little math and planning.  The best thing to do would be to take a look at the Fair Isle Boots,  since they’re a slipper sock knit in worsted weight, to get a sense of gauge and number of stitches needed.  You would need to cast on half the amount of stitches for the foot for the provisional cast on, and work short rows for the toe until about 1/3 or so of the stitches are unwrapped in the center of the row.  Work the foot as normal, then repeat the toe for the heel.  When it comes to the patterning on the cuff, take a look at the number of stitches in a repeat and adjust your stitch count to fit.
 
 What is your favorite yarn to knit slippers with?
I’m a big fan of yarns in the DK-slightly bulky range, and I love color.  When it comes to slippers, I’m prone to be a bit more daring than I would for sweaters, so I often use variegated or hand painted yarns. I also like my slippers warm, so I’d generally choose a wool yarn when knitting them for myself.  Of course, wool isn’t the best option for everyone, so I included some non-wool yarns among the patterns as well.

I hope you have had a wonderful time on your slipper blog tour! And please do stop by again!

You can buy your copy of Amy’s book  today/tonight/even wee hours of the morning and get started on that holiday gift list! I am sure Amy has already decided what her slipperless husband will be wearing on his feet!  Maybe the Ribbed Toe-Up Slipper Socks shown at the left?

Just click on the image and you can get your copy either digitally or in print and get some slippers on your feet!

Happy Slipper Knitting!

Responses

  1. These look like they might make an easy first attempt at socks. What do you think???

  2. Hello,

    I really love this kind of slippers but I would like to know if they are made with two needles or five( socks knitting needles). I love knitting with two but hate with five.

    Thank you

    • Like Michelle said, These look like they might make an easy first attempt at socks. starting at the toe is not the way most would try socks first, but why not!
      And like socks, even if the pattern is written for DPN’s (which it is) you can always use two circular needles instead!
      So Rocio! Use 2 circular needles and get your feet warm!


Leave a Reply

Categories

