Posted by: GourmetGirl | January 11, 2011

Springtime Romance

Springtime Romance is on the newsstands!

I love the lace on this sweater. Especially the cuffs and bottom edge.

Knitted from the top-down, Springtime Romance is started with the neck edge being shaped. A strip of the lace is worked with short rows so the top is smaller than the bottom edge. Stitches are then picked up at the bottom of the neck lace and worked downward.

This sweater design is meant to be a comfy favorite to throw on during those cold days of spring when you can’t wait for the sun to warm you up.

The pattern can be started NOW when you get your copy of Creative Knitting Magazine March 2011 issue. It also will be available at a later date for a single download on my website.

Happy Springtime Romance!

Nancy

Responses

  1. Thank you, Nancy, for another pretty top-down! I decided to make it right away. However, I need to make some alterations: the wide neckline is not going to work for me. So, a practical question: to make neckline smaller I knit the neck band shorter, of course: should I also do short rows more frequently, in order to increase the curvature? I realize you likely have not tried smaller neck on this particular sweater. What you experience and expertise would suggest? I hold your designs in high regard and have used them and their elements in my knitting projects several times.

    • Thank You Alyssa!

      Did you know that most women have the same measurements from shoulder socket to shoulder socket? 17 inches. The few tiny shouldered are 16 inches. So, open necks work for most sizes.

      However, I do understand that you may want to modify the neckline. Yes, just knit the band shorter to accommodate the neck opening you desire. Look farther down in the pattern where it talks about picking up the sts. That will be your guide. Divide your sts evenly and just knit a longer yoke!

      • Thanks for your reply, Nancy! Yes, I know. I’m one of those petite-shouldered ones; in fact my shoulder-to-shoulder measurement is a little less than 15″, with a short neck to boot, so I always need to alter wide-neck designs or avoid them altogether. Perhaps I’m not the only one among your fans with small bone structure, so this discussion will be helpful to others, too.
        My question was mainly about short rows. As I’m making the neck band shorter, should I keep the original rhythm of short rows or knit them more frequently, to make the neck line more curvy? My intuition fails me here, I was wondering what yours would tell.

      • I have a stitcher with who has the same 15″ shoulder area! I didn’t even mention the 15 inch women because that is even more rare!

        Don’t worry about more short rows. You should be fine. You can be our tester!


Leave a Reply

Categories

