Posted by: GourmetGirl | January 18, 2011

Learning

One of the many things I love about knitting is that I am constantly learning.

As a knitwear designer, I not only learn about the craft, but about charting out what I have done so others can knit it also.

I could easily knit away for myself. I have basic structure principles that I follow. I may change a neckline but I still can figure out where I need to be before a join. And I am not afraid to rip something out if it isn’t working for me or change direction.

One of the things I love about top-down is that it can be customized as you knit. My first written patterns are much more free form to follow the basic principles.

Writing patterns for a magazine has made me more precise in my pattern writing. I do, however, sneak in customization where I can!

Learning, for me, is also about charting. I changed to Intwined Pattern Studio last April. They are a young group and I have been impressed at the upgrades in the chart symbols. Last year when I wrote La Salle Street Cardigan for Cascade Yarns I didn’t have the symbols for complicated lace moves. Now I do!

Fair Isle patterns are on my ‘Goals‘ list for this year. I am learning about charting for fair isle, too, and I am hoping symbols for these are added. (I should ask!)

Alice Starmore’s Fair Isle Knitting book is a fantastic reference! I have already charted two fair isle designs for you to watch for!

Happy Learning While Knitting!

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

