Posted by: GourmetGirl | May 24, 2011

Cool Pools of Water

Cool Pools of Water is knitted with Kollage Yarns Luscious and the pattern can be found in Creative Knitting Magazine’s July’s issue.

Luscious is labeled as a sock yarn – but it knit’s up beautifully for a soft flowing jacket for warmer weather.

The neck is worked on a temporary cast on method that is a crocheted chain. It is first started at the back and as you knit more stitches are added by knitting into the crocheted chain.  This method allows you to knit from the top-down and have a lovely scooped neck!

The overall lace pattern is classic and finished off with ribbing at the ends. The neck stitches are placed on needles and are finished with the same ribbing.

The eyelets in the lace make perfect buttonholes for small matching buttons. And as with all garments knitted from the top-down you can customize your body and sleeve length!

Happy Cool Pools of Water for your Summer Knitting,

Nancy

Responses

  1. Thanks, Nancy. I’ve been waiting for a long time for this kind of beginning of raglan top down. In fact, I read about it and was planning on trying to create a project of my own using this method. Now, thanks to you, my first try is going to be a tried and true pattern!
    Now, a question. When you look at the picture in this post, the cardigan worn by the model looks “open”, which means that the fronts hang lower and pull away and to the back; the back itself usually sticks up and out in this situations ( I know from experience). This is very common with knit cardigans. Some people are fine with that and even like it. I would prefer the fronts hang straight when the top button is buttoned. What do you think causes it? Absence of bust darts? Too short neck-to-armhole length in the back that makes the back ride up? Again, I know for many people it’s a non-issue, but as a former seamstress I am a sort of fit freak and ready to put in some extra effort to achieve the desired fit. Any thoughts? Thanks.

    • Good Question, Alyssa!
      This pattern stitch is stretchy (technical term), so when buttoned it will not look tight but tightens up when given the chance. Does that make sense?

      I think that if you want the fronts to hang straight you need to either knit a larger size or add stitches to the front. I am not a big fan of bust darts (I think they draw attention to the busts.) Also, bust darts would be tricky with this pattern stitch.

      Creative Knitting will be sending me the jacket back soon (one of the very few publishers who let you keep the knitted item!) So, I will take a look at it a bit closer and I will report back if I find another solution!

    • You are right. It can be tricky to make bust darts with this stitch pattern. But the more I think about the issue, the more I realize it’s probably not the bust darts: they would make the front (or the central part of it) longer, which is not the problem here. I think it’s the top of back being too short. You know how in Japanese top down knits they make the back about 4cm longer then the front, right after dividing for sleeves and body? It’s not just to make the neckline deeper in the front, it’s also to accommodate for the longer, as we know from (sewing) pattern construction, armhole depth in the back than in the front. Could it be that? I remember following this advice when knitting a top-down round yoke sweater, and it “sat” very well on the shoulder and the upper body. On the other hand, as many times as I knit top down sweaters with identical back/front top, it always feels a little bit awkward, and I try to pull forward, then back as the armholes become too short in the back, – you know the feeling? The method you suggest in this pattern for shaping neckline solves the neck problem beautifully. As for the front/back balance… Maybe I should try lengthening the top back again.
      (And, my guess is the width of the front will not affect the way it hangs. If the back bottom is too narrow, it can pull the bottom fronts toward back; but your sweater has ample width there , doesn’t it? One can tell from the picture.)
      Thanks for listening. A friend of mine used to say: you should always share your problems with all good people around you, because one never knows who and how will be able to help.

      • As you know, I am a believer of knitting short rows on the front near the neck line to solve this problem with pull overs. This allows the front to dip down so it does not pull the back up. With this pattern it is not possible. I am also a fan of working the back section increases before starting the rest. You do this some on this pattern. I do not remember this sweater fitting with the back shorter……..

        The beauty of knitting top down: put a life line in and try! You will be able to tell if a solution works in only a few inches from the armhole.

        And yes, there are stitches added at the underarm. I have been following this rule on all of my patterns for about a year or so. It helps the armhole area fit better.

        You have given me new thoughts! I may try adding extra stitches to the back section to allow the armholes in the back to have more room……. I continue to try and find solutions that make the process simple for the knitter.

        Keep your thoughts coming, Alyssa!
        Thank you!

  2. You are very welcome.
    Just to make sure we are on the same page: I was thinking about more rows rather than stitches in the back. Right after all the increases are finished and the yoke in the front is the correct length, before joining back and front, several even rows are worked on the back stitches only, making the back about 1 – 1.5″ longer than the front, then back and front are joined to work together. When you go back to finish the sleeves, extra stitches are picked up from the selvages of these extra back rows, making the back half of the sleeve a little wider. Those extra stitches can, of course, be tapered right back when working the sleeve. This procedure kind of correlates with the pattern construction principles in sewn patterns.
    I found myself thinking more and more about that over the past couple of years. If it gives you some food for thought, I’d be more than happy.
    By the way, I’ve made couple of sweaters following (in a responsible knitter’s manner!) your patterns and have been quite pleased with the results. You are currently one of my very favorite designers, and I’m following closely all the developments on your site, your projects on Ravelry, etc. Plus, I stole your “Happy Knitting!” and use it every time I communicate with our knitting group members.Thank you for all of that! And once again, I want to join all the knitters who want to encourage you to write a book of modern principles and patterns for knitting sweaters top down. I’m sure there is huge audience waiting for it. And, many knitters like me would add, would you consider baby/child patterns? Happy Creating, Nancy!

    • So happy to hear you are pleased with your patterns!!
      I am sure the baby/child patterns will be on my agenda at some point.
      As I have said before – so much yarn/ideas and not enough time! 🙂
      I am still trying to convince more people about “modern principle and patterns for knitting sweaters top down. I hope a book is in my future!


Leave a Reply

Categories

