Posted by: GourmetGirl | May 31, 2011

The Costs

There are always “Costs” in being caught up in a fast paced society. In wanting things now, not later. In getting somewhere first before the others……….

Of course, I am talking about the Knitting World. And I am talking about “Errors”. That dreaded word all designers, tech editors and especially knitters hate to hear.

(I actually should put this post under Responsible Knitting.)

Errors are nothing new. Errors have been happening since the dawn of knit one, purl two.

Designers make errors. Tech editors sometimes catch them and sometimes make their own errors. And of course that all leads to the knitter who catches them, fixes them – or not – and  makes some more on their own project!

Whew! That is a lot of possibilities!

Which brings me back to Responsible Knitting!

Being a Responsible Knitter is being able to work around the errors in a pattern. To figure them out, to correct them for your project. Sometimes that is easier to do for one project than it is on another. Especially if the project is one of a level you are unfamiliar with. Some errors are published on a website or Sometimes there is only a big void out there. Sometimes you can contact the Designer – sometimes not. Sometimes your Local Yarn Shop or a fellow knitter can help. Again, sometimes not.

And then there are the times you can change the pattern to fit the project you want. Now THAT is REALLY Responsible Knitting!

I got into designing because I kept changing the patterns I started. Sometimes it was because I knew what I was doing – but sometimes it was because I DIDN’T know what I was doing! But, I kept knitting!

So, the moral to this story is: “Keep Knitting!”

Errors will come, Errors will go and we all will just keep knitting!

Happy Knitting!

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

