Posted by: GourmetGirl | April 17, 2012

Warmer Days…….

The days are getting warmer……….

Time for being outside, flowers in the window…….

So, what happens to your knitting? Do you leave it by your chair to plant tomatoes, basil and thyme?

Probably.

Depending on the part of your world, you will opt for some type of outdoor activity and leave your knitting inside. But, I would like you to consider taking your knitting outside with you!

YES! Baseball and knitting work fabulously with Stitch and Pitch. But, that doesn’t mean socks or any other type of knitting are only for baseball. Poolside or under a tree in a lazy hammock or swing will work, too.

It is that time of year – well, fastly approaching – that knitting will be the last thing on your mind.

Don’t cast your needles aside for the outside! Take them with you!

Happy Knitting Outside,

Nancy

Responses

  1. Hi Nancy. I left you a message on Ravelry, but thought I would post here as well. Yes, the days are getting warmer, and my reaction: I’m interested in knitting your Bannisters tank! I’m thinking about using some stash yarn; 3 skeins of Handmaiden Flaxen totalling 822 yds. The pattern page for this design doesn’t indicate the number of skeins required for each size. Can you tell me which size I would be able to make with this much yardage? Thanks very much for your help.
    Peggy in Highlands Ranch, CO

    • Hi Peggy!
      It never hurts to contact me several ways! The internet is wonderful – but isn’t always 100% reliable!

      Here is the yardage for my Bannisters Tank: DK Weight Yarn 857(1026, 1197, 1407, 1619) for Chest: 34(38, 42, 46, 50) inches.
      This is a very loose sweater – perfect for hot days.
      Your 822 yards will give you a size 34 sweater that could easily be really a size 36.

      One way to get a bit more out of your yardage is to make the “straps” an inch shorter. The photo doesn’t show the sides. The armholes on this tank are generous – for the hot weather.

      Thank you for your interest!
      Let me know if I can help further….. I check my ravelry, blog and email for KnittingGourmet every day. Usually once in the morning and once in the afternoon. You caught me on a traveling day where I checked only once in the early am!

      Happy Knitting,
      Nancy

      P.S. This tank would be great with a turtleneck in the fall, too!!!

      • Thank you, Nancy. Sounds like I can get the size I was after with the yarn in my stash – always a bonus!


Leave a Reply

Categories

