Posted by: GourmetGirl | May 22, 2012

Linen Yarn

Several years ago at a knitting convention, I sat by a woman who had the most wonderful feeling shawl.

It was incredibly soft. And more to my surprise it was knitted out of linen yarn.

Of course, I ran to the nearest vendor that had linen and bought some!

Linen to the touch is stiff and corse feeling. You can feel the fibers softening as you knit. It still is stiff when you are finished. But, when you wash it and block it your piece softens.

You wear it, it softens a bit more. You wash it and block it – again is softens. Do you see where I am going?

Safari shown at the left is much more stiff looking than it is now. And I have not washed this more than 5 or 6 times.

So, of course, I bought some more linen yarn! It is in my stash for a shawl – I have the shawl half designed.

Of course, I bought some more. It is in my stash for a bag – I have the bag half designed. (Yes, I have many designs at all different stages of development!)

Then, of course, AGAIN I recently bought some more linen yarn for a summer tank that has cables and lace. It is now on my needles…..

I love it. And I dream of this tank being soft and flowing – even though it will take a few washing to get it there.

Linen is tough and durable and over time becomes incredibly soft. It is a good choice for summer knitting – but don’t let it fool you – it is great to wear all year round!

Natural fibers are the best way to go when it comes to yarn.

Let linen  join your ranks of must knit yarn!

Happy Knitting, Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

