Posted by: GourmetGirl | January 22, 2013

Practice, Patience and Perseverance

I read on Knitting Daily: “Anything can be done in knitting. It’s just a matter of patience, practice, and perseverance. ”

I really love that line. And I need to remember it when someone asks: “How many hours did that take to knit?” (I think that is my least favorite question.)

I do not knit for quick gratification.100_4424

Big needles, big yarn – no. Small needles, fine yarn (DK, Sport, Fingerling) – yes. Worsted – yes.

Patience, Practice and Perseverance.

I just had a knitter ask why a sweater that they knit to the gauge of the pattern stretched so much. And, of course, I responded: “Too large of needles.”

“But, that is the size of needles the pattern said!” was the response.

Yes, there are thousands of patterns out there luring knitters to knit their pattern. I am sure most think: LOOK! This sweater is on US 9/5.5mm!!! Yippie! And how pretty, it wont take a long time to knit……

Unlike if it was on US 5/3.75mm: OOO, NOOOOO! Too small of needles! I can’t make that sweater! It will take forever!

Patience, Practice and Perseverance.

If the worsted weight sweater was knit on the smaller needles, there is a better chance the sweater will get worn and it wont be in the pile of “too large to wear except with sweats around the house”.

So, my philosophy? Slow down, have some Patience. Practice with smaller needles and your Perseverance will bring you the land of Happy to Wear Knitting.

Happy Knitting,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

