Posted by: GourmetGirl | September 24, 2013

Lazy Knitting

Do you get Lazy about Knitting?

Sometimes I do!

Every once in a while I spend several days without knitting. Yes, it is sad, but true, my knitting patterns are neglected.

Sometimes it is life that calls me away. Sometimes it is because I don’t know what I want to knit. I suppose that is a good reason to have several projects on your needles to decide on which you “feel” like knitting.images-1

Knitting is something I will be doing always. If I would have been able, I would be on the “Knitting Circuit” – going to shows, conventions, teaching, designing and having a group of knitter’s available to knit up my designs.

I must admit that I have slowed down in the whirl-whind of my knitting life. I haven’t submitted a design for outside publication in over a year.

Being  on the “Knitting Circuit” is not for me. Don’t get me wrong, I would love every minute of it!

Like any Art, Knitwear Design takes major time for very little money. Even a simple design takes hours before a knitting pattern can be printed out or uploaded onto a website. Then don’t forget, it needs to be posted on Ravelry at the very least. Further time in it’s marketing takes more hours and sometimes more money.

Knitwear Design is a lifestyle. It is a lifestyle that is all absorbing – a life away from your family – or one that must work with the life you choose.

I have been very fortunate to be a Knitwear Designer that has been published in magazines, websites, blogs and marketed by yarn companies. At this point in my life, I have realized it is time to slow down and become a “Lazy Knitter” that enjoys the movement of the needles and the designs that come out of my mind.

It is not for everyone, but a life of knitting is for me.

Happy Knitting,

Nancy

Responses

  1. How beautifully you have described your current status, Nancy! Knowing you, however, I have to doubt the “lazy” portion of your title. Happy stitches,
    Barb


Leave a Reply

Categories

