Posted by: GourmetGirl | October 15, 2013

Knitting Without Tears

I do believe, Elizabeth Zimmermann and I would have been friends.

Her no nonsense style, and some of the phrases I have read of hers, amuse me and make me think how much I would have loved to have been in a chair knitting in the same room with her.

Knitting Without Tears is one book of her books that I bought because of that desire.images-1

I was already Knitting Without Tears, myself, when I bought the book years ago. Not for the content, but for her wit and her ability to make me laugh at the bold way she states her opinions. She inserts her personality into the pages.

The 1st chapter of this book: The Opinionated Knitter.

“Properly practiced, knitting soothes the troubled spirit, and it doesn’t hurt the untroubled spirit either.” She writes on to state that when properly practiced (relaxed and with pleasure) it brings you joy. And best of all: Don’t knit if you are not relaxed and especially if it does not bring you pleasure!

I, too, am an Opinionated Knitter. If you have been reading my blog, you probably could list my different opinions. And hopefully, chuckle at my statements as I chuckle at those of Elizabeth Zimmermann.

Too many times, I have helped troubled knitters. Either with my own pattern or with another designer’s pattern. I must say, some knitter’s borrow trouble before they even cast on.

You know the personality. They fret about the yarn, they fret about the needles. And another one of my pet-peves – they think they have gauge when they really do not understand gauge at all. Gauge is not an easy hurdle – so do not fret, you are not alone. Gauge is more that thinking you have the right numbers.

Back to the “fretter” – and they usually fret over the pattern before they cast on.

My best advice at this point is to CAST ON! At least to work up a swatch! Find your pleasure in your knitting and knit on.

And Elizabeth’s best advice: “Knit on with confidence and hope, through all crisis.”

Happy Knitting,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

