Posted by: GourmetGirl | January 28, 2014

Well-Worn Knitwear

What makes Well-Worn Knitwear?100_4149

First off: Color and Style that is YOU.

Second: A Good Fit!

And that is what I want to write about.

I LOVE knitting from the top-down. WHY? The best part of knitting top-down: You can try it on as you go! Once you join and work the garment an inch or two, try it on. It is better to rip out to the join and cast on more stitches or work the piece longer before joining for better armhole depth, than it is to have knitwear that doesn’t fit. (Same when working the sleeves for your perfect length.) I am a big believer in changing a pattern to make it fit best for YOU – not using some formula.

AG00212_One of the reasons I have stopped publishing in magazines and books, because I feel they just don’t want a knitter to have directions to customize a garment. And especially when a knitter uses different yarn. Yarn changes everything! Here is a link to a past blog on Fiber.

I also disagree with “main stream” sizing. Measure ready made garments that you wear and love – not your bust. Everyone likes to wear what makes them comfortable. Some like a tighter fit, some like a looser fit. Some want the garment longer, shorter, wider at the hips, etc. Do you see where I am going with this? Yes, and some call this garment “Ease” – another guise to make sweater fitting more complicated. Believe me when I tell you the sweater will not look the same on you as it does on that skinny model!

Measure, Measure, Measure.

Be BRAVE. Change the pattern to a garment that will be Well-Worn.

Sorry, I am on one of my rants…….but, I do love helping knitters so their knitwear will be Well-Worn! And, I think this topic needs more discussion. Next I will elaborate on: Yarn Changes Everything!

Happy Knitting,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

