Posted by: GourmetGirl | February 25, 2014

Patience is a Vurtue

When learning a new task, patience is required.

DaisyIn today’s instant gratification society, patience is something many people do not have. That is why people honk their horns, cut in-front of you at the grocery store and yes – do not participate in any artistic craft that requires time.

You-Tube can teach you many things. But there is a reason the video is edited – no one wants to watch a 2 or 3 hour video. As I have posted about my latest learning of a new craft (Irish Lace), I find myself continually chuckling about patience as I work through the elements of my first Irish Lace project.

Okay, I need to let you in on a bit more of the reason I am chuckling….. Recently, I was asked my option on the quality of a product. Evidently, a customer complained about the quality of the product when they could not accomplish a finished, seemingly simple, item with the product. Yes, I am being a bit vague on the details (for consideration to the merchant and the customer), but this completed item takes TIME to complete. Since I created an item from the product, I could not figure any reason that the customer could not complete it – except for lack of patience. The customer even sent a You-Tube video of a different method of use and could not accomplish it then either. (I viewed the video: time was edited out.)

So, back to me chuckling. Chuckling because many would not work a craft if you were told ahead of time you needed lots of patience. And definitely not a customer who was told something simple would take lots of time to accomplish.

As I posted before, I purchased a book on Irish Lace. It is a fairly new book and I purposefully did not reveal its name. (I only write reviews on books that I can say something honestly positive.) This book is meant to teach the craft to beginners at Irish Lace – Not Beginners to Crochet. The run-on instructions in paragraph style and that there are no charts are enough for any skilled crocheter to toss this book aside.

100_5197I chuckled at the skill levels posted, I chuckled at me marking the instructions for easier reading and I chuckled when something so obvious was spelled out in detail. I chuckled as it took over an hour just for me to baste my motifs to the fabric. I did NOT chuckle at the time I first started to join the motifs together.

I later chuckled at the thought of trying to convince the tech editor to include: This part requires patience to learn. Chuckling a bit more at adding a statement of truth: At first you will struggle to find the way to work your chains and attach them together. Plan on picking your piece up and down, turning it every which way, re- wrapping your thread around your fingers numerous times and ripping out sections because you need to work the section in a different way. It does not give tips for making the joining easier.

There is a reason there are not patterns with specific directions for attaching the motifs. This part of the craft is called free form. Learning to be free form and like what you are working is another element that calls for patience!

100_5199Insane, I am, for tackling a project that requires this much patience! I could have started out with something simple. But, I am a junkie when it comes to learning something new like this. I am driven to create and make the project current for todays garments by plunging in and working a more complicated project from the start.

With each new phase of this project, patience has rewarded me with knowledge. Knowledge of a new craft. Knowledge of how to work the motif better the next time.

Many times people forget that patience is needed in perfecting a craft.

A piece looks home-made when you are asked if you made it. When people ask you where you BOUGHT it!………Ahhhh! That is when all your patience makes you smile inside and out!

Happy Patience in Your Craft,

Nancy

Responses

  1. That looks so beautiful Nancy! Greater patience brings greater rewards!

    What yarn/thread are you using?

    • I am using Lizbeth size 20 thread. Great colors and they have different sizes of thread.
      Thank you, Shirley! xxoo


Leave a Reply

Categories

