Posted by: GourmetGirl | March 25, 2014

Fall Knitting Before Spring?

A friend of mine sent me an article about Fall Fashions. Fall Knitting Before Spring?

Okay, I am biting on that one for two reasons.

Usechanel11: The picture to the left shows what is probably going to be on many this fall. Not necessarily the pattern combinations or layering choices – I’m talking about the extra long scarf/shawl.

2: I need an easy to take project “on-the-road” with me on the long bus trip as chaperone for teenagers.

I want one of these to wear (I LOVE LONG). But, I do not want the weight. I want it light and easy to hang from my neck or shoulders and have “scrunch-ablility”.

Digging through my stash, I found Louisa Harding Simonetta in Teal. Perfect! Teal and Black with a bit of Silver Sparkle.

Now is a VERY good time to comment on Needle Choices for this project.

Simenetta is a superfine weight yarn. And yes, the tag suggests using US size 6-8/4-5mm. Really? Wow!

It also states that you will obtain a gauge of 18-22 stitches for 4 inches. 4.5 to 5.5 stitches per inch. Hmmmm!

I grabbed US size 4/3.5mm to swatch.

Double Moss Stitch 24 stitches gave me about a 6 inch wide swatch 16 sts for 4 inches or 4 stitches to the inch. Are you saying WOW? You should. I just got less stitches to the inch on SMALLER needles!

VERY Good Time to say: “Look with your eyes at the yarn to determine your Needle Size, NOT the tag attached to the skein”.

After swatching, I am pleased with the effect of the Double Moss Stitch. Easy, but not too boring. I will need to keep an eye out to not veer from the stitch pattern, but can easily keep track with noise and interruptions around me. I will also use a slipped stitch edging for a smooth look – plus an end boarder to be added later to make a special look. (I can’t JUST do it all plain.)

I will keep you posted.

Happy Fall Knitting Before Spring,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

