Posted by: GourmetGirl | August 12, 2014

Knitting “Off the Rack”

I re-read this post from 2013 and find it “fitting” to re-post. Enjoy!

It is rare for anyone to find a perfect fit off the rack – so why would you “knit off the rack” when you can customize your sweater?

Many knitters veer to the “Top-Down Sweater Side” for this very reason.summer_goddess_300_medium

When I first started having my designs published, I wrote my patterns like I was teaching a class. I would explain the process and give options for the knitter to customize their knitwear. Of course, the publishing world and their tech editors changed my words – took things out and yes, left gaps and errors in their wake. Many times I have sent my original pattern to a confused knitter and I would receive a response back: NOW it makes sense!

I started to shorten my words and eventually started to add Notes and Custom Notes to my patterns. I still defended my stand on armhole depth – I measured store bought sweaters and would tell them my findings. I lost that battle most of the time.

Now that I have decided to jump off the crazy whirling world of main stream publishing, I find myself veering back to leading the knitter to customize their knitwear to their body preferences.

I must admit, some of my patterns are not for the meek, but I help you through the pattern so it does not seem so daunting. Many times, I do not follow “standard” knitting. But, as I recently wrote to an inquiring knitter: Trust the pattern, it will lead you in the right direction.

Most of the knitters that knit my patterns are not “Posters” on Ravelry. So, if you do choose to follow the path of not Knitting off the Rack, don’t worry – you are not alone.

Happy Knitting,thumbnail.aspx

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

