Posted by: GourmetGirl | September 9, 2014

Two or Three or Four or MORE!

I am getting in the Mood for a color project.

imagesColor  was my favorite class in college.

I studied Joseph Albers – theFather of Color – and was mesmerized by how colors take on colors that they surround. So, I guess, it is natural that I love to look at the combinations of color with Fair Isle.

Lovebirds-WEB-ONLY01-320x479I remember the first knitting piece I saw with manipulation of color that intrigued me. (An Alice Starmore wrap – I didn’t even know who she was at the time!) The main design color as well as the background changed in color. It was FABULOUS! To the right is one of the more recent designs to come from the Starmores: Lovebirds.

Alice Starmore’s book, Fair Isle Knitting, covers some of that principle in her designs. No surprise then that I enjoy studying her theories of color also. Knitting in-the-round, wrapping the yarns as you work the colors, picking and throwing with speed. These are the techniques to learn. The manipulation of color and design are what I dream about.

~

100_4491I have worked with multiple colors before. My Fair Hat was a fun project and that hat still is my favorite to wear when the wind is cold and blowing.

I have a design that has been sitting for awhile for a top-down sweater where you do not need to do that dreaded “cutting”. I still think about casting that on to start. I even think about starting a new one with the neutral skeins of alpaca yarn staring at me. I was thinking of a two color caplet or cowl project. Maybe with a solid ribbing to fold over at the top.

What I need to do is go back to my knitting chair and finish the projects already started! Darn that laundry and other distracting stuff!

Happy Dreaming of Knitting With Color,

Nancy

~

~

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

